Home The 4 C's Confidence Faq Where To Buy Contact Us

Weight & Price

Weight & Size

<< Back to The 4 C's

Carat Weight



The carat is a unit of weight which derives from the carob seed. The pods of the carob, or locust tree contain tiny seeds, which are remarkably consistent in weight. These seeds were used by early traders to weigh their diamonds.


Tenths 0.09-0.11
Eighths 0.12-0.14
Sixths 0.15-0.17
Quarters 0.23-0.29
Thirds 0.30-0.37
Three-Eighths 0.38-0.43
Light-Halves 0.44-0.49
Halves 0.50-0.69
Three-Quarters 0.70-0.83
Seven-Eighths 0.84-0.89
Nine-Tenths 0.90-0.99
1 Carat 1.00-1.24
1¼ Carat 1.25-1.49
1½ Carat 1.50-1.74
1¾ Carat 1.75-1.99
2 Carat 2.00-2.49
2½ Carat 2.50-2.99
3 Carat 3.00-3.99
4 Carat 4.00-4.99

The carat is now a metric weight measurement, which is exactly 0.2 grams or 200 milligrams.

The carat is divided into 100 points.

example: a half a carat diamond is 50 points, written as 0.50 carat.
We know that diamonds are sold by weight, but the value of a diamond is really more a reflection of its rarity. A five carat diamond does not simply cost five times as much as a one carat stone of the same cut, colour and clarity. A five carat diamond demands a much higher price, since very few are found.

Therefore diamonds are categorized and priced in weight ranges. The price of the category is expressed "per carat". These weight categories can vary slightly between dealers but are usually very similar.

Cutters are motivated not to drop in weight category, and not to drop just below what are often called the "magic sizes" since people tend to like even fractions or whole numbers such as half a carat, three-quarter carat, and one carat. These magic sizes usually demand a premium.


© Copyright 2019 Antwerp Ideal. All Rights Reserved.

Content Management Tools by REM Web Solutions

Home The 4 C's Confidence
Faq Where To Buy Contact Us